‘I wish they’d stop going on and on about the clothes,’ said my friend Amanda when we were watching the Inauguration on her sofa. So, apologies to her, and to other non-fashion-obsessed readers, but weren’t Michelle’s clothes great?

Mrs Obama might have an underbite that makes her look permanently like she’s about to smack her husband around the head, but she knows clothes. As Barack very cutely put it when they arrived at the first of 10 parties, ‘First of all, how good looking is my wife?’ Michelle was clearly not really paying attention, because she applauded for a second before realising everyone else was applauding her.

Good on her for choosing two relative unknown designers for her two outfits of the day (Jason Wu and Isabel Toledo), and for dressing the kids in high street (J Crew).

But much as I’m into the clothes, I’m not sure I take fashion as seriously as the new administration: according to a rumour leaked to Fashion Week Daily, the editor of US Vogue, Anna Wintour, is in line for a job as ambassador to Britain or France. Her qualification? Does throwing a great party and scaring the bejesus out of the whole industry count? Her office is denying it, and weirdly, every link Google throws up seems to lead to a page that’s been taken down, so if you’re reading this Ms Wintour, I think you’d be brilliant. Or stay at Vogue. Either is fine. Please don’t sue me.

