If you haven’t heard this fabulous bit of audio, click here immediately. Unless a stream of swearwords emanating from your computer is likely to get you fired. Then again, it didn’t get him fired.

This, in case you’ve been under a rock, is the sound of Batman going mental at the director of photography when he wandered into shot on a film set, thereby disrupting Bale’s, ahem, craft. Apart being from a brilliant insight into a side of the movie industry that you rarely get first hand, the other fascinating thing is his accent, which, as my fellow expat dad pointed out, whips back and forth across the Atlantic.

I’d laugh, if it wasn’t so close to home. I can no longer say ‘route’ or ‘router’ without pronouncing it like ‘out’. No one understands you if you ask for ‘a bottle of water’ without turning every ‘t’ into a ‘d’. I’ve even heard myself say ‘ledduce’, which is horrible, but still not as bad as my boyfriend’s ‘ciddee’, as in ‘Nu Yoik Ciddee’.

Worse than the accent creep, though, the actual words themselves. I’ve said I’d like to ‘meet with’ someone, and asked for trashbags for the trashcan, and the check, and the bathroom, and said, ‘stay on the sidewalk’, but I haven’t gone as far as ‘awesome!’, pronounced like ‘ah-so!’. Omigod, there’s no coming back from that.

